Melbourne is a young team on the rise and despite the disappointment of missing finals, they have their list under control.

The club has locked away its important young talent and probably won’t have too much to worry about during the trade period.

Jack Viney, Jayden Hunt and Michael Hibberd are locked away until 2020, the longest contracts at the club, while key players in Clayton Oliver, Jesse Hogan, Dom Tyson and Nathan Jones are signed until 2019.

Controversial forward Jack Watts fell out of favour towards the end of the season and there’s been speculation he needs to find a new home, but the former number one draft pick is contracted through to 2019.

Bernie Vince and Jack Trengove remain out of contract with the former seeming more likely to go another year while Trengove will probably retire or be delisted.

Depth players in Jake Spencer, Ben Kennedy and Aaron Vandenberg also remain out of contract as well as a number of rookies.

Spencer signed a one-year deal last season and will probably do the same again soon.

Next year will be interesting for the Demons as Max Gawn, Oscar McDonald, Tom McDonald, Christian Petracca, Angus Brayshaw and Neville Jetta come out of contract among others.

The Dees are building a great squad of young players and 2018 will be a vital year for consolidating their list and building towards being a serious finals contender.