Richmond and Melbourne to deal with three-day breaks

SEN - Thu, 1st Nov 2018 - 0 Comments

An early-season ‘carnival of footy’ has been scheduled for 2019.

The AFL fixture shows 10 games in 11 days in what appears to be a ‘carnival of footy’ in Rounds 5 and 6.

Commencing on Thursday, April 18 with the clash between Brisbane and Collingwood, and ending on Sunday, April 28 with Geelong and West Coast, fans will be treated to a smorgasbord of games.

The two rounds take in the Easter long weekend as well as the two days of midweek Anzac Day footy but the carnival could turn to carnage for Richmond and Melbourne who have both been afforded just a three-day break.

The Tigers host Sydney at Marvel Stadium on Saturday, April 20 – on the same day Melbourne meet St Kilda – before the two clubs then have to suit up again on the Wednesday night (April 24), meaning they have just three days of non-footy between games.

Essendon and Collingwood, who clash on Anzac Day, will receive five and six-day breaks respectively.

AFL’s 2019 ‘carnival of footy’

Round 5
Thursday, April 18
Brisbane v Collingwood – The Gabba – 7:35pm AEST

Friday, April 19
North Melbourne v Essendon – Marvel Stadium – 4:20pm AEST
West Coast v Port Adelaide – Optus Stadium – 8:10pm AEST

Saturday, April 20
GWS Giants v Fremantle – UNSW Canberra Oval – 1:45pm AEST
Melbourne v St Kilda – MCG – 4:35pm AEST
Richmond v Sydney – Marvel Stadium – 7:25pm AEST

Sunday, April 21
Western Bulldogs v Carlton – Marvel Stadium – 1:10pm AEST
Adelaide v Gold Coast – Adelaide Oval – 4:40pm AEST

Monday, April 22
Hawthorn v Geelong – MCG – 3:20pm AEST

Round 6
Wednesday, April 24
Richmond v Melbourne – MCG – 7:35pm AEST

Thursday, April 25
Essendon v Collingwood – MCG – 3:20 pm AEST

Friday, April 26
Port Adelaide v North Melbourne – Adelaide Oval – 7:50pm AEST

Saturday, April 27
Gold Coast v Brisbane – Metricon Stadium – 1:45pm AEST
St Kilda v Adelaide – Marvel Stadium – 4:35pm AEST
Sydney v GWS Giants – SCG – 7:25pm AEST
Fremantle v Western Bulldogs – Optus Stadium – 8:10pm AEST

Sunday, April 28
Hawthorn v Carlton – UTAS Stadium – 3:20pm AEST
Geelong v West Coast – GMHBA Stadium – 4:40pm AEST

.
.
.
.