Bontempelli named CRT Player of the Year at AFL Nation Awards

SEN - Thu, 19th Sep 2019 - 0 Comments

Western Bulldogs superstar Marcus Bontempelli has been named the 2019 CRT Player of the Year at the AFL Nation Awards, held on Thursday 19th September at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, as voted by the AFL Nation commentary team.

AFL Nation, produced by Crocmedia, delivers coverage of Australia’s biggest sport, bringing together a team of football’s most respected callers and expert commentators, including Anthony Hudson, Gerard Whateley, Garry Lyon, Nick Riewoldt, Andy Maher, Sandy Roberts, Terry Wallace, Daisy Pearce, Peter Donegan and Nick Dal Santo, who contributed across the season to nominate the award winners.

Brownlow contender Bontempelli was awarded 24 points by the team for his outstanding season, with fellow Brownlow contender, Carlton’s Patrick Cripps receiving the award for the Bendix Brakes Big Moment. Both were on hand at the awards, with Cripps’ talking positively about the influence of David Teague on the club in the latter of the season, and the team’s aspirations for success in 2020.

The MEGT Rookie of the Year award was won by Carlton’s Sam Walsh for a fantastic first season, off the back of entry in the league as the number one draft pick in 2018.

Essendon hero Anthony McDonald-Tipungwuti was on hand to receive the TAC Towards Zero Great Goal of the Year award, for his skilful goal in Round 3, as were Melbourne’s Sam Frost and Adelaide’s Ebony Marinoff, who were awarded the Hip Pocket Tackler of the Year awards for the AFL and AFLW respectively.

The full list of winners was as follows:

• CRT Player of the Year – Marcus Bontempelli, Western Bulldogs Football Club

• Bendix Brakes Big Moment – Patrick Cripps, Carlton Football Club

• TAC Towards Zero Great Goal of the Year – Anthony McDonald-Tipungwuti, Essendon Football Club

• Hip Pocket Tackler of the Year AFL – Sam Frost, Melbourne Football Club

• Hip Pocket Tackler of the Year AFLW – Ebony Marinoff, Adelaide Crows Football Club

• Glen Cameron Group Mark of The Year – Liam Ryan, West Coast Eagles

• MEGT Rookie of the Year – Sam Walsh, Carlton Football Club

AFL Nation can be heard across more than 200 radio frequencies across Australia, reaching 70 radio markets, delivering metro and regional audiences. AFL Nation is broadcast through the SEN app, the AFL app, and – Australia’s #1 sporting website. AFL Nation has continued to show growth in market coverage with an average weekly audience of over 600,000 listeners.

The AFL Nation awards breakfast capped off a big week of awards ahead of Grand Final Week, with recognition for Crocmedia through a string of accolades at the 2019 Australian Football Media Awards.

They included:

• 1116SEN’s Breakfast with Garry Lyon and Tim Watson host Garry Lyon winning the prestigious Alf Brown medal for most outstanding media performer of the year, the AFMA's highest honour;

• Whateley, hosted by Gerard Whateley and produced by Ross Flegeltaub, won best radio show in the country;

• Crunchtime was highly commended and ran second in the same award category;

• Anthony Hudson won best radio caller for his work on Friday nights on AFL Nation and 1116 SEN;

• Nick Riewoldt capped a remarkable first year in the business, winning best radio expert commentator; and

• Chief football reporter of the AFL Record and columnist Ashley Browne was highly commended for best feature writer.