Australia to name 14-man squad for first two tests of the summer

SEN - Thu, 14th Nov 2019 - 0 Comments

Australia will today name a 14-man squad for the first two tests against Pakistan, with Usman Khawaja and Marcus Harris the unlucky batsmen to miss out, according to multiple reports.

Despite a poor showing in the Australia A game Joe Burns has been named, while Cam Bancroft has also been included.

Michael Neser has also been rewarded for his consistent form with a spot in the squad.

Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc and James Pattinson have also been named as part of a strong pace battery.

Will Pucovski earlier today asked not to be selected in the squad, taking a break from the sport for mental health reasons.

Former Australian coach Darren Lehmann believes the squad is too large.

See the full reported squad below:

Squad: Tim Paine (c, wk), Cameron Bancroft, Joe Burns, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner.